Monday, April 19, 2010

Kuwait University

On Thursday evening, we did not have much work and was relatively free. The weather was also pleasant and so we decided to go out for long drive. We reached Kuwait University campus at Shuwaikh. As we had never gone there before, so decided to check out the campus.

Kuwait University (KU) was established in October 1966, five years after Kuwait's independence from Britain, as a result of an Amiri Decree. KU started with only two faculties, namely the Faculty of Science, Arts and Education; and a Women's College. The university had 418 students enrolled and 31 faculty members. By (2005), the university grew to more than 19,000 students and over 1,000 faculty. The University is spread over four campuses: Khaldiya, Adailiah, Keyfan, and Shuwaikh. The Shuwaikh campus is, by far, the biggest one, as it houses many faculties.

For more information on KU, check the following websites :

No comments: